BTEC Health and Social


BTEC TECH Award Health and Social Care


Lead Internal Verifier – Mrs York


The Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care is for learners who wish to acquire knowledge, understanding and technical skills through vocational contexts as part of their Key Stage 4 learning. The qualification recognises the value of learning skills, knowledge and vocational attributes to complement GCSEs. The qualification will broaden the learner’s experience and understanding of the varied progression options available to them.


 What does the qualification cover?

The Award gives learners the opportunity to develop sector-specific knowledge and skills

in a practical learning environment. The main focus is on three areas, which cover:


  • skills and processes, such as interpreting data to assess an individual’s health, and

designing a plan to improve their health and wellbeing


  • attitudes, namely the care values that are vitally important in the sector, and the

opportunity to practise applying them


  • knowledge that underpins the effective use of skills, processes and attitudes, including

human growth and development, health and social care services, and factors affecting

people’s health and wellbeing.


This qualification builds on and uses the knowledge and skills you are learning in your GCSEs, such

as English. It will complement the more theoretical aspects covered by GCSE Biology or GCSE

Psychology by allowing you to apply your knowledge and skills practically in a vocational context.


The course is divided into 3 Components.

Component 1: Human Lifespan development (Internally assessed)


Component 2: Health and Social care services and values (Internally assessed)


Component 3: Health and Wellbeing (Externally assessed in February and May of Year 11)


Useful Materials

Student Book – BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award Health and Social Care Student Book ISBN: 9781292200927


Revision Guide – Revise BTEC Tech Award Health and Social Care Revision Guide ISBN: 9781292245614